My Favorite Newborn Items

21 Mar

I promise this will not become a baby blog but since Jax is now 3 weeks old and I kinda feel like I got the hang of things, I decided I would share a couple of my favorite baby items that I’ve been using this time around.

My absolutely favorite item are flat diapers.  Don’t you remember the old school cloth diapers that our parents wore?  They are amazing and no I am not using them as diapers but rather burp cloths.  Jax is a spitter and frankly I don’t like being covered in spit-up or projectile vomit so these cloths have been a life saver!  I had purchased other burp cloths at Babies R’ Us and I am not a fan of them at all.  They are way to small and don’t soak up the spit up nearly as good as the flat diaper does.

I’ve talked about these before but I am still in love with my aden and anais swaddle blankets.  They are so light and soft.  I also love that they are big so you can really get a good swaddle that lasts.  Not only does Jax love them but Jayden also uses one at night to cuddle with.

I am not sure the brand of my next favorite product but it’s simply a waterproof multipurpose pad.  I use one on the changing table and one in the bassinet.  It is great for catching pee and spit-up.  These is one of those extremely cheap items that makes life a little easier.

Lastly, I know some people think it’s a waste but our bassinet is probably the most multifunctional piece of furniture we own right now.  I put Jax’s cloths, birth cloths and swaddle blankets all underneath the bassinet in the storage area.  It also has wheels so I can easily move it from room to room and to top it off, he absolutely loves it.  He would rather sleep in the bassinet then being held.  So odd, I know!

Here are just a few of my current favorite newborn items.  Ask me again in a couple weeks which ones are my favorite and I am sure I will have a different opinion!

2 Responses to “My Favorite Newborn Items”

  1. Maria March 22, 2012 at 8:46 AM #

    I used receiving blankets as burp cloths, because I always thought the ones advertised as such were too small. I can see how prefolds or flats would work well too. 🙂

    • Kearstin Harrington March 23, 2012 at 9:34 AM #

      Oh I’ve used the receiving blankets as well for Jax is a spitter 😉

Leave a Reply

