Introducing Jaxon Carl Harrington

13 Mar

Baby Jax's 1st Photo

It’s been ages since I last posted but this time I actually have a reasonable excuse… Baby Jax entered this amazing world!  Everyone has a birthing story and here is how mine began:

I was a week past my due date when I headed to the gym to hop on the treadmill with plans of walking until I couldn’t walk anymore.  Before I started I was speaking with another Mom who mentioned acupuncture.  Long story short she said she was a week overdue with both of her children when she made her way to an acupuncturist in town.  She said she was in labor within an hour of leaving both times.  I immediately asked Adam, looked up her phone number and within 30 minutes I was sitting on the table ready for some needles.  Around 9 PM on Tuesday, the contractions began.  Although 20 minutes apart, I was so happy that I was going into labor on my own; with no medical assistance.  It was a long night of contractions every 20 minutes.  By 9 AM they were 8-10 minutes apart and by 2 PM they 5-6 minutes apart.  I headed to the hospital (at the request of my husband and mother-in-law) at 3 PM and I was 4 CM dilated.   At 6 PM my water had broke and by 8:30 PM I was asking for an epidural.  At the time I didn’t think I could handle the pain anymore, however, looking back I honestly think I was just so exhausted from not sleeping the night before that I just wanted to rest and I knew the epidural would allow me to do so.  I was already 8.5 CM dilated by the time the epidural started to work.  I rested for about an hour and before I knew it everyone is telling me it was time to push.  6 pushes later, Baby Boy Harrington (we didn’t decide on a time until the next day) entered the world weighing 8 pounds and 5 ounces.  He measured 22 inches long and had a set of lungs on him that the entire hospital could hear.  He literally cried for the first 3 hours of his life.  I looked at Adam and asked why he was still crying, ha!  But the good news, he slept from  1 AM to 8 AM that night.  Thank goodness because I was absolutely exhausted.  He was a bit fussy in the hospital and even for the first couples days at home but (knock on wood) he is a doll now.  Nursing every 2.5 hours and gaining weight like it’s his job!  Praise God!

So that’s my birthing story!  No dramatics and problems, it was smooth sailing.  After I had Jayden I remember telling Adam I don’t think I could ever do that again but I was wrong; along came Baby Jax!  Thankfully I had a good pregnancy (my husband might tell you differently) and a wonderful birthing experience that I could totally see myself doing it again!

More on how life with two kids is going tomorrow!

I prayed for this child, and the Lord has granted me what I asked of him.  1 Samuel 1:27

One Response to “Introducing Jaxon Carl Harrington”

  1. Jon Pike March 13, 2012 at 7:11 PM #

    I am proud of ya, you’re a trooper! He is a beauty of a kiddo, too, nice work!

Leave a Reply

