You Don’t Have a Wipe Warmer?

13 Feb

This post may seem a bit harsh for some and others will understand exactly what I mean.

No I do not have a wipe warmer and I never will.  I also don’t have a bouncy seat that sings and one that vibrates, a table swing and a full-blown-take-up-your-entire-living-room-swing nor do I want one.

I ventured out to Babies R’ Us the other night and was shocked when I saw how many unnecessary baby items they have for sale.  A wipe warmer?  Come on.  A baby monitor with a video camera?  No thank you.  Diaper pails?  I’ll pass on that one too.  Designer crib bedding?  Looks darling but a Chamois Crib Sheet from Pottery Barn and a blanket will do.  I think a lot of times when preparing for a newborn to arrive it is easy to think about what we want as parents rather than what an infant really needs.  So why am I being some laissez faire about the arrival of our newest miracle?  When I packed up Jayden and headed to Croatia I brought the following items:

May 2007

Receiving blankets (Greatest blankets ever invented)!

Burb Clothes

Travel System Stroller

Clothes

1 Rattle, 1 Soft Basketball

Pacifiers

Sleep Positioner

A Hooter Hider

And that’s about it.  Maybe a few other small things here and there but we basically went over with the bare minimum.  Did I assume we would buy things over there, yes but much to our surprise, the only things we bought was a pack n’ play for Jayden to sleep in and a breast pump that was universal.  And to top it off, we were happy as clams!  No complaints and I never wanted or felt I needed to buy anything else!  So for the 2nd time around, we are going with the same approach.  Less is best (and besides I hate clutter)!

If you have any newborn must-haves, please share them!  I’d love to see if I am missing out on something.

4 Responses to “You Don’t Have a Wipe Warmer?”

  1. Maria February 13, 2012 at 11:37 AM #

    A wrap or Beco style carrier was a must for me. I also needed my boppy early on, but mostly because I struggled with positioning for a few weeks. Oh, and cloth diapers. 🙂

    On the other hand, I didn’t and wouldn’t have a hooter hider (used a receiving blanket until I got comfortable with the latch), burp cloths (again, used those receiving blankets), pacifier (TB never would take one, so that was a waste for us), or sleep positioner (some studies have been showing some styles of these can be dangerous).

    we did end up buying TB a swing and a chair (the kid wouldn’t sleep! I needed it at times…long story).

  2. Erin February 13, 2012 at 11:44 AM #

    My ABSOLUTE essential would have to be Lanolin cream 😉 Besides that I think we are pretty much on the same page, although I have been tempted by a baby monitor with a video camera s a way to spy on older children to see if they are napping!

  3. Jon Pike February 13, 2012 at 6:08 PM #

    Hey Kiddo!

    Nice entry you’re a real hoot!!!

    I enjoyed the Hooter Hider and the BURB cloth!

    Love ya,
    J Pike

  4. meliabellaMelissa February 26, 2012 at 9:24 AM #

    For us, the bouncy seat and the boppy were must haves. But otherwise, we were on the same page as you… Though I never used a hooter-hider. Just a blanket. 😉 Wishing you labor vibes today! ❤

Leave a Reply

