Two on Tuesday

28 Dec

…on Wednesday!

I swear there aren’t enough hours in the day.  Or maybe it’s the fact I need at least 10 hours of sleep these days to function all day long.  Either way, my blogging has taken back seat but stay with me.  My hopes to be a better blogger in the new year will happen.

What I’ve learned this week is:

1. 1 gift is just as special as 10.  It all unfolded the Christmas of 2009 when Jayden was just 2 years old.  We had bought him so many gifts; gifts to just unwrap and by the end of the holiday I was an emotional disaster.  It got to the point that Jayden would unwrap a gift and ask, “What’s next?”  He didn’t even look at what he was getting after a while.  I knew something had to change.  So for the past 2 years Adam and I decided we were going to slash the stash and we did.  This year it wasn’t hard because Jayden’s Christmas List consisted of about 5 things; Toms shoes, a baseball helmet, pants, batting gloves and a jersey.  It was so special to see Jayden sit down and really enjoy what he was getting without asking, “What’s next?”

2. Giving is an important lesson for anyone; at all ages.  As I mentioned above, we “slashed the stash” and we also showed Jayden how amazing it feels to give.  Adam allowed him to go to the store and picked out a couple things for me for my stocking.  He picked out a pink hair brush and lemon juice (I love water with lemon – ha).  When I opened those two things up his face was glowing.  He was so proud to give me a gift.  We also did this by adopting a family at church.  Jayden went to the store and picked up gifts for a little boy who according to him, “doesn’t have enough money to buy any gifts.”   It’s the little things at Christmas like giving that will forever make an impact in the heart of a child.

Leave a Reply

