Project Sweet Caroline

23 Nov

This week is all about giving, right?  Well I have a story that will certainly touch your heart.

Let me introduce you to Melissa.  Melissa was a student teacher when I was in high school and many years later, I found out that Melissa and my late sister-in-law, Jill, used to be playmates as kids.  Small world, right?  Melissa also happens to be a knitter and let me tell you, she can knit.  The other day on facebook she wrote a status about donating knit caps to preemies so of course, I had to ask more.  Here is what she wrote:

“I started the charity Project Sweet Caroline after my best friend lost her preemie Caroline back in April of 2011. My friendwas diagnosed with HELP Syndrom and her daughter was born at about 26 weeks. Her family was blessed with just over a week with her before she returned to Heaven. While in the NICU and the hospital at the University of Michigan my best friend and her daughter received the very best care. My friend was touched when her daughter was given one of the few hand knit caps they had to keep her warm. After Caroline passed tis tiny hat was one of the only real possessions my friend had in memory of her daughter.

In order to show thanks to the University of Michigan NICU and their staff I started Project Sweet Caroline. Knitters from all over the world use sock yarn in washable soft wool to knit tiny caps. To date we have knit over 260 hats (More arrived on Friday). We have a group on Ravelry that can be found here and the pattern we use can be found here.

All hats are mailed to me or donated by the knitters to their own local NICU. You can always have people email me at tuttlesivley@yahoo.com for my address.

The pattern is basically the leg of a sock. That’s how tiny they are. We hope to expand to send meal and gas gift cards to the families of these children, as some families have to travel 4+ hours a day to see their children while they under-go care.”

How amazing is that?  One little girl, Sweet Caroline, went to be with Jesus but her memory will live on forever.  For any questions or ways you can help, please contact myself or Melissa.

Leave a Reply

