Speak Life, Not Death

10 Nov

In others words, speak up, not down.  Speak positively, not negatively.  Speak to encourage, don’t leave someone discouraged.

I love Ephesians 4:29.  It reads, “Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.”

When I became a mother I quickly realized that I need to watch what I say to Jayden.  As he gets older I’ve noticed, more often than not, I am quick to bark a remark at him which often leaves him discouraged.  For example, when he interrupts while I am talking to an adult something along the lines of, “We’re talking.  You need to wait” (in a not-so-nice of a tone) comes out.  What I really want to say is, “I understand you have something important to say but hold that thought until we finish our conversation” (in a nice, excited to hear what he has to say, tone).

I pray that everyone can go about their day tomorrow and speak life into someone, help build someone up and say something that would benefit anyone who listens (especially to the little one in ours lives)!

 

Leave a Reply

