Your surroundings.

20 Sep

Stop.  Take a moment to look at who you surround yourself with including your friends.  No, I am not talking about the 731 “friends” you have on facebook.  Most of those people are not your friends but rather someone you don’t mind staying connected to through social media.  Take a look at the people surrounding you.  The people you talk to on a monthly/weekly/daily basis.  Now I challenge you to make a list of these people and ask yourself the following questions:

1. Are they making you a better person?

2. Are they continuously challenging you?

3. Do they bring positive or negative energy to your friendship?

4. Do you share many of the same common values?

5. Are they there for you and are you there for them?

I have 1 friend that challenges me with her every thought.  I may not agree with her 100 percent of the time, in fact I don’t, but she is constantly challenging me about life, parenting and everything else in between and that’s one of the reasons I admire her so greatly.  I have another friend that, plain and simple, makes me want to be a better person.  A better giver, a better Christian, a better wife, a better mother, a better friend, etc.  Her words of encouragement and her positive spirit are contagious and it’s always nice to share many of the same values.  Lastly, I have another friend that I could call morning, noon and night and would simply sit there and listen to me ramble if that’s what I needed her to do.  There isn’t a doubt in my mind that she wouldn’t be there for me.

The point of this post is to realize that when you make lifestyle changes the people surrounding you change too.  That’s not saying you’re “too good or better” then the people you used to hang out with before but instead implying that you’ve made changes in your life that call for different surroundings.  For example, when Adam and I brought Jayden into this world we immediately saw some people come into our lives and others leave.  The fact of the matter is, someone that goes to the bar on a Friday and Saturday night are not going to want to sit at home with you and your newborn.  That’s reality.

As a Christian there is nothing worse (poor word choice) than surrounding yourself with people they are unintentionally trying to pull you further away from God.  It is hard to realize who those people are until you really stop and think about if they are making your a better person, challenging you and bringing positive energy to the table.  Would it be easier to just be friends with people who love Jesus?  Maybe.  But don’t forget sometimes it’s the people who aren’t in a relationship with Jesus that challenge you the most (in a positive way, of course).

The examples of friends I gave above are just a few examples of women in my life that do all the the above.  They challenge me, bring positive energy to our friendship, share some of the same common values and continuously help make me be a better person.  The point of this post isn’t to call out a few of my friend but to take a look at your surroundings and see where those people are going.  If those people have no more ambitions and goals, you’re going to find yourself driving along the same path.  Surround yourself with positive people who will encourage you to become a better person and will be there for you in the good times and bad, those who will help your flourish in life and those will challenge you, your mind and spirit!

Leave a Reply

