The Power of Discipline

3 May

This may be a controversial post for some and some of you might not agree with our parenting techniques but this is our life and how we choose to raise our child.

Everyone needs discipline.  Adam must discipline himself when it comes to working out and staying in shape.  I am disciplined when it comes to shopping; focusing on my needs not my wants.  And people who are trying to loose weight become disciplined eaters.  From birth to death, we are continuously disciplined in one way or another.  One thing that is very important to Adam and I is how we discipline Jayden, our 4 year old son.

I don’t even know what type of “parenting style” Adam and I have.  But I do know that we are in a relationship with Jesus and it is our will to model God in our parenting style the same way He parents His own children (of course, to the best of our ability).  Look at Herbews 12:5-6 to get a taste of God’s parenting style:

My son, do not make light of the Lord’s discipline, and do not lose heart when he rebukes you, because the Lord disciplines the ones he loves, and he chastens everyone he accepts as his son.

Just like I want the best for Jayden, God wants the best for His children as well.  Therefore, when I discipline Jayden I am not doing it out of anger (although it may seem like that sometimes) but rather out of love.  I love Jayden too much to see him acting inappropriately or being disrespectful.  He is young but old enough to realize when he sins or does wrong there will be consequences for his actions.

A few of the parenting techniques we use are listed below:

Take a Break: I don’t know what it is about the words “Time Out” but it totally freaks Jayden out.  It is as if I have sent him to jail and he’ll never see me again.  He screams and shouts my name over and over again.  Instead of “Time Out” we use “Take a Break.”  I explain to Jayden that his behavior or actions are inappropriate and he needs to “Take a Break” and think about what just happened.  After he is calm and is ready to re-join the situation then he can come back.  This tactic has been such a blessing.  It has worked very, very well for us.

Removal:  Removing Jayden for a situation works almost every time.  It gets underneath my skin when parents do not remove their children from certain situations.  Removing Jayden from a situation, going down to his level and making eye contact to talk about a problem is one tactic we use when we are in public.  I will admit, I have removed Jayden from the dinner table at a restaurant to have a talk with him in the bathroom.  Whatever works, right?

Counting 1, 2, 3!:  I don’t think I have actually counted to 3 more than 3 times.  I don’t know the power behind counting but it works in our house.  I typically use counting when I have asked Jayden to do something and he is slow to do so.  After the second time I asked him, the counting starts.  He is quick to react and do whatever I ask.

Distraction and Redirection: There are certain situation that I have to say no to and I know Jayden is going to be upset.  For example, going to Adam’s night workouts are usually a no and I can guarantee tears.  Instead of just saying no and walking away, I try to redirect Jayden’s attention and feelings toward something that makes him happy.

Discipline is something we will all deal with our entire lives.  It is important to discipline out of love and not anger.  I am a child of God and God loves His children.  He wants what is best for me and I want what is best for Jayden.  I pray that I can continue to parent through the Word of the Lord and honor God in every parenting aspect of my life.

One Response to “The Power of Discipline”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Power Wrap-Up « Life Out of Bounds - May 4, 2011

    […] Life Out of Bounds Home ← The Power of Discipline […]

Leave a Reply

