The Power of Giving

20 Apr

Giving is one of the most satisfying things I have ever done.  Period.

I give because I can.  I give because I care about others.  I give because I know that God will always provide.  I give because I have more than enough.  I give because it is in my power to do so.  Why do you give?  Think about it.

Giving is really simple.  It is a small selfless act that comes from the heart.  It is something you do and expect absolutely nothing in return.  It is something you do because you want to not because someone told you to.  It is something you do without caring if anyone notices.  It is a simple act of kindness that is unmeasurable.  There is no better way to grasp the power of giving than to open up your Bible.

I could quote bible verse after bible verse that relate to giving.  Deuteronomy 15:10 reads, “Give generously to them and do so without a grudging heart; then because of this the Lord your God will bless you in all your work and in everything you put your hand to.”  And Proverbs 11:24-25 reads, “One person gives freely, yet gains even more; another withholds unduly, but comes to poverty.  A generous person will prosper; whoever refreshes others will be refreshed.”

How powerful are those verses?  Jesus gave.  I don’t think I even have to elaborate on that.

My prayer for you this week is to give “without a grudging heart”;  to give with a willing heart and expect nothing but the Lords blessing in return.  To not withhold and to give even if you don’t find it is in your financial means.  As Easter is quickly approaching, remember that God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son (John 3:16).

2 Responses to “The Power of Giving”

  1. Maria April 22, 2011 at 12:30 PM #

    I wrote about giving as a way of life back on my Birthday (2009: http://www.piecesofmymind.com/2009/07/friday-feature-giving-as-a-way-of-life.html)… it truly is a way of life in our home. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Power Wrap-Up « Life Out of Bounds - May 4, 2011

    […] The Power of Giving […]

Leave a Reply

