The Power of Words

16 Apr

“Sticks and stone may break my bones but words will never hurt me!”

What a comeback!  I remember using it when I was on the playground in grade school.  Somehow it gave me this feeling of power.  I thought it was such a good comeback that unless someone really did throw sticks or stones at me, I could still hold my head high.  But let’s be honest, words are powerful.  They’re sometimes hurtful and sometimes kind.  They can cause an emotional high and a complete emotional low.  A few simple words can influence major decisions in your life, can cause you to act out of character, can change your mind and can cause you to do something you never thought you’d do.

Have you ever really thought about how powerful words are?

Sometimes we forget how powerful certain words are because we may use them everyday.  Or on the flip side, using a word we don’t often use can cause us to really think how powerful that one word may be.  For example, the word hate is not allowed in our house.  Period.  There are no if, ands or buts.  It simply isn’t allowed.  Hate is such a powerful word and for our sons small (big) heart, the strong feelings behind the world hate are too much for him.

Proverbs 18:21 declares this:

The tongue has the power of life and death, and those who love it will eat its fruit.

That is a powerful verse regarding the power of words.  The words that come out of your mouth may bring life to someone, may fill someone’s heart with faith or love or may shine light on someone.  Jesus used his words to teach and confess and as a Christian it is my will to use my tongue in a way that would honor the Lord.  However, we are all sinners. There are times, more often then not, that I misuse my tongue.  I gossip with my friends and criticize others.  I lie to my son to make him believe that I go to bed when he does and I sporadically drop a curse word when my emotions take over me.

This statement is true: Words are powerful.  It seems like such an easy statement to understand, yet it is so complex.  Be careful of the words you use; they could speak life or death into someone.  And that alone is enough to really sit back and think about what you confess with your tongue.

2 Responses to “The Power of Words”

  1. Maria April 19, 2011 at 9:03 AM #

    Words are very important– as is the tone used when conveying the words. It really gets me how some people talk down to children and others in their tone, use words to intentionally hurt people, and forget the LOVE that Jesus showed towards those society deemed to be “sinners.” No wonder he was upset with the religious leaders of the time– they used words to create impossible to attain standards. 612 of them, if I remember correctly. Ah words…much like labels…they are so very dangerous.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Power Wrap-Up « Life Out of Bounds - May 4, 2011

    […] The Power of Words […]

Leave a Reply

