The Power of Prayer

12 Apr

How many times have you heard, “We’ve done all that we possibly can.  The only thing we can do now is pray.”  Everyone has heard it at least once.  I’ve said it before.  But as I continue my walk with Jesus I have started to understand the power behind prayer.  With that being said, prayer should be the very first thing we turn to instead of the last.

How many times have you heard, “I pray… I don’t get stuck in traffic,  it doesn’t rain while we’re at the football game, I get an exit row seat, I meet my future husband at the bar tonight, etc.”  The strange thing about it is you usually hear these prayer requests from people who do not, yet, have a relationship with Jesus.  And there lays the problem.  The power does not come from the person who is praying but instead the power behind the prayer is in the God who is being prayed to.

There are numerous verses in the bible that really helped me understanding the power of prayer.  James 5:16 declares, “Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed.  The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective.”  It is very hard for some people to share their feelings but when we open up to God we are exercising our faith.  We are casting our worries on a powerful man.  We are declaring that we trust in God’s plan and what He has in store for us.  That right there should shine some light on how powerful prayer can be.

And one of my favorite verses, Philippians 4:6-7 says, “Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”  How powerful is that?  As I look at this passage, it is hard for me to write anything.  I want to stop and start reciting Philippians 4:6-7 out loud on a roof top!  To me this says, God is working in my favor, He is sovereign and all powerful!  When I pray He hears me and no matter what is going on in my life I need to give thanks and continue to present my requests (prayers) to God.

My goal for everyone who reads this is easy; worry less, pray more and never underestimate the power of prayer.

One Response to “The Power of Prayer”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Power Wrap-Up « Life Out of Bounds - May 4, 2011

    […] The Power of Prayer […]

Leave a Reply

